Four finalists nominated

The Luxembourg Society for Contemporary Music in cooperation with the Hong Kong Chinese Orchestra has invited composers from all over the world to present new works for its International Composition Prize.

The international jury consisting of

Yan Hui-chang (Hong Kong)
Artistic Director and Principal Conductor of Hong Kong Chinese Orchestra

Chan Wing-wah (Hong Kong)
Chairman, The Composers & Authors Society of Hong Kong

Joshua Chan (Hong Kong)
Associate Professor, Department of Music, University of Hong Kong

Chew Hee-chiat (Malaysia)
Resident Conductor of the Hong Kong Chinese Orchestra

Zhang Hao-fu (China)
Composer, Professor at the „Conservatoire Royal de Musique de Bruxelles“

André Laporte (Belgium)
Composer and former Artistic Director of the Radio Philharmonic Orchestra Brussels

Theo Brandmüller (Germany)
Composer and Professor at the „Hochschule für Musik des Saarlandes“

Cord Meijering (The Netherlands)
Composer and Director of the „Akademie für Tonkunst Darmstadt“

Marcel Wengler (Luxembourg)
Composer, Artistic Director and Principal Conductor of the Luxembourg Sinfonietta

has chosen four works to be premiered in the final concert of the
10th International Composition Prize Luxembourg.

The selected compositions will be performed on January 11th, 2013 in a public concert at the Hong Kong Poly University – Jockey Club Auditorium in Hong Kong by the joint orchestra of the Hong Kong Chinese Orchestra and the Luxembourg Sinfonietta: dizi, sheng, erhu, guzheng, pipa, sanxian, Chinese percussion, clarinet, bass clarinet, horn, tuba, cello, piano and western percussion, Marcel Wengler conducting.

Nomination of the four finalists:

(in alphabetical order)

Dic-lun Fung (Hong Kong)
Naoko Kachi (Japan)
Chun-Wei Lee (Taiwan)
Zhiliang Zhang (China)
Neuf Images Du Monde Flottant
Crossover the world
The Music Of Paintings
Sonar Image

Dic-lun Fung Naoko Kachi Chun-Wei Lee Zhiliang Zhang

Composers from 33 countries participated in the 10th International Composition Prize: Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Croatia, Finland, France, Germany, Great Britain, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Korea, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Mexico, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tajikistan and the USA.